Home News UN suspends Libya’s right to vote

UN suspends Libya’s right to vote


The United Nations has denied Libya the right to vote over delayed payment of membership fees, as a part of measures announced by the Secretary General, Ban Ki-Moon, stipulating that countries that didn’t pay UN membership fees won’t have the right to vote unless in exceptional cases, AFP reported.

The Libyan Foreign Ministry didn’t comment on the resolution. The list also includes Bahrain, Dominican, Saint Vincent, The Grenadines, Burundi, Mali, Marshal, and Vanuatu Islands.

Ban Ki-moon, allowed the General Assembly to allow member states to vote if it is convinced that the non-paying was due to circumstances beyond their control, which paves the way for the participation of five poor countries (the Comoros, Guinea Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, and Yemen) that retains the right to vote until the end of the current cycle of the United Nations in September, according to the decision issued by the United Nations.